Starry Night Chromebook | Best Practice on Managed Chromebooks (Required Reading)

    Follow

    Problem: User profiles receive a minimal amount of storage space.

    Solution:

    In ---> Google Admin Console.

    In ---> Device management ---> Chrome --> Device Settings


    Please be sure to choose the setting above (Do not erase all local user data) - it makes a difference to the amount of HD space that is allotted to each Chromebook user profile.  If you do not choose the setting above then each user profile will have significantly reduced storage space, and, installing and running Starry Night could be problematic.

    If you choose to "Erase all local user data" then this setting will limit the amount of space accessible to users - due to the fact that Chrome OS has to erase everything when a user logs out.


    Please let us know if you have any questions about this.

     

    Additional notes:

    Admittedly, it is confusing and quite counter intuitive.  If you choose "Erase all local user data" then Chrome OS will limit the amount of storage space that is allotted to each user profile affected by that setting.  The limit can be anywhere (in our experience) from 300MB to 900MB.  I guess google is saying, if Chrome OS has to erase all the local data after each user profile signs out then each profile will be limited to the amount of disc space they can be permitted to use in the first place (maybe, for whatever reason, they don't want Chrome OS to have to erase 10GB of local user data after each sign out).

    The opposite setting "Do not erase all local user data" does not set a very small limit on the amount of disk space available to each user profile affected by that setting (or, Chrome OS certainly permits far more disk space per user profile - and in our experience this can be up to 10GB).  And, therefore, to be clear, it is our suggested best practice to choose the setting "Do not erase all local user data".

    Comments

    Powered by Zendesk