Archive Corrupted - also includes any downloaded installer that does not work

    Follow

    Corrupt files are incomplete downloads

     

    Corrupt downloads are incomplete files.  That means, for one reason or another, your computer failed to download the complete Starry Night installer.  When you try to run the incomplete installer the "archive corrupted" error message is produced.  I'm sure you are now very frustrated with the downloading process, and we are not happy about your difficulty either!  We strive to provide fast and efficient software delivery at all times.  Our servers are optimized to provide downloads as fast as your ISP (internet service provider) will permit.  Unfortunately, there are a number of reasons why your download speed may still be too slow to deliver our software fast and efficiently.  

     

    1.  In order to balance service across all their customers ISP's are known to choke bandwidth channels when heavy downloading is recognized.

    2.  For security reasons, some ISP's will time out after a certain length of time.

    3.  Any torrent software, running on your computer in the background, may be hogging all the bandwidth that is available for downloading.

    4.  Spyware and malware can affect downloading speeds.

    5.  Web browser plugins and internet security options can affect downloading speeds.  For example, Internet Explorer imposes a time-out limit.

    6.  Antivirus software.

    In order to help us monitor and develop solutions for this issue we would appreciate information about your downloading speed.  If you have the time please go to speedtest.net and click "begin test".  The website will show your download speed (in the top - middle).  Please provide your download speed information, plus the type of internet connection and ISP (i.e Bell DSL - if you know it) in the ticket.  Thank you very much for your help with this matter.

    www.speedtest.net

    Please try downloading again.  We will reset your download link upon request if you have tried too many times already. Please submit a ticket (using the Submit A Request option at the top of this webpage), write "Download Limit Reached" in the Search Common Issues field.  Plus, we have some advice to help you.  

    1.  Do not use Internet Explorer - try Google Chrome or Firefox.  If you were using one of these, try the other.  What is often important here is the clean installation of a new browser so it has no plugins, etc.  My preference is Google Chrome - I find it incredibly dependable for resolving this issue.

    http://www.google.com/chrome

    http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/

    2.  Cancel any other torrents/ downloads/streaming running in the background

    3.  Log directly into your email account using the standard web-based email service.  Do not download using a specialized email client that forwards the Starry Night Downloads and Registration email from the original email account.

    4.  Close all unnecessary programs and windows on your computer.  It can be difficult to see web browser prompts, and find the downloaded files, if many unused programs are still open, cluttering the desktop.

    5.   Download the installer onto another computer and/or from another ISP location, and then transport it to your computer of choice by disk or usb stick (if your internet is very slow, this is highly advisable).

    To have your download link reset please submit a ticket (using the Submit A Request option at the top of this webpage), write "Download Limit Reached" in the Search Common Issues field.  In the Description field ask to have the download link reset.  Please also provide the other requested information in the ticket.

    In order to help us monitor and develop solutions for this issue we would appreciate information about your downloading speed.  If you have the time please go to speedtest.net and click "begin test".  The website will show your download speed (in the top - middle).  Please provide your download speed information, plus the type of internet connection and ISP (i.e Bell DSL - if you know it) in the ticket.  Thank you very much for your help with this matter.

    www.speedtest.net

    Comments

    • Avatar
      Jayasimha

      Utterly useless information, same thing mentioned in "You have reached the download limit!" article - repeated here again. All you do is blame it on the ISP and Internet Connectivity issues - though this issue is clearly yours and yours only. I don't understand why disable the download link the moment download fails (and make customers wait forever for your support teams to respond to queries) - how can you justify that?

    Powered by Zendesk